City Council


  • 7 p.m.
  • 2nd and 4th Monday of every month
  • City Hall
    30 N Main Street
    Rittman, OH 44270

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and MinutesCity Council Members Meeting


The Rittman City Council consists of 6 members; all of whom are elected to 4-year terms. Each Council Member is an At-Large representative. Three Council Members are elected during the November General Election in the odd-numbered years.

Overview - Council & Form of Government

The City of Rittman, Ohio was settled in 1817. The City of Rittman operates under a Mayor-Council-Manager form of government. This form of government was established by the Charter of the City of Rittman in 1960.

The Mayor and members of Council are elected by the people, and are responsible for the legislative actions of the City, as outlined by the Charter. Council shall appoint a Municipal Manager who is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the City.

City Council holds the legislative power of the Municipality and determines all matters of policy, including the creation of offices, boards, divisions and commissions not otherwise provided for in the City Charter.